Ariel and I were there for a good six hours today, working at least as hard as we did on the first day, but although I am pretty tired I am not completely shattered in the same way I was then. This is good – I must be getting stronger, or something ๐Ÿ™‚ I didn’t intend to stay for so long but we were both having a good time, so we stayed until the food ran out and hunger drove us home for pizza.

Here is the work for today:

Apart from an hour or so contribution to the clearing operation, I didn’t have a lot to do with clearing, digging and manuring the second bed (further side in picture), because I was too busy organising a makeshift compost bin*, laying the remaining cardboard paths and entertaining children… but I’m going to claim credit for the work so far on the third bed (foreground) since I did most of the clearing and all of the digging by myself after everyone but me and Ariel had gone home. ๐Ÿ™‚ You would not believe the amount of couch grass I pulled out and although I think I got pretty much all the big roots there are hundreds of little roots remaining. I am a bit stressed about couch grass right now!

[* We spotted an old cheapwood filing cabinet being slung out over the road, so we dragged it over, levered out the drawers, and lay it down. By the end of the day it was completely full.]

Here is a view of the plot after Day 2 – which compares quite satisfyingly with the view after Day 1!

NB the second bed has a path down the middle because we changed our minds about how big it should be after digging it, and moved the path!

