DK - The Human Body

This is my latest “toy” – a fablious big book (and DVD-Rom, fwiw) that takes you on a tour of the whole human body, with amazing pictures, and manages to be reasonably comprehensible without talking down to the reader. I am so happy.

I used to think myself squeamish about bodies. But in seeking actively to appreciate my own body, I have discovered in recent years a new wonder, a new awe for the totally astonishing things my body can do, does do, the whole time.

I think it started with pregnancy. That is when I started to go inside myself, physically. Before then, my body was just a tool, useful but not especially interesting. Having a life growing inside my body, a life that I knew would change everything imaginable, generated not just interest but a sense of amazement and awe.

