The really great thing about being a complete novice at something is the number of people who know loads more than you – it is easy to find at least someone who will help you get the hang of stuff!

Anyway, my expert says: do a big water change, and you’re done. Cycled. Finito. Ready for more fish! It’s only been two weeks, so that’s terrific. I’ve done the big water change and to be on the safe side will test my levels over the next few days to make sure I haven’t messed anything up in the water change – then at the weekend it’s new fish time. Woo hoo!

Here is my now mature tank, complete with aged water:

[PS this shows the silly “antiquing” effect on my photo editor, NOT the actual state of my water, which is somewhat cloudy after my massive water change, but not all brown and dead-looking like this.]

