As I may have previously mentioned, I’ve become slightly obsessed with admiring my site stats and seeing what search terms people are using to find Touchingly Naive.

However, it turns out that most people finding me via search engines are not in fact looking for sharp feminist analysis, witty repartee or cute stuff about small kids.

The current top 10 are:

UPDATE (9 May 2007): Ever since I moved to WordPress, this post has been in the top three posts continuously, and in the top one or two for most of the time – due to its use of key search terms that, it seems, EVERYONE wants to find. Bored of the sight of this post on my hit list, I’m now deleting the relevant search terms from the actual text.

Here is an image instead, for posterity and all that:

Pervert alert
<snip>

<And the next paragraph and note are amended to avoid the use of any words that look a bit like “so@py” and “enem@s”. Ridiculous, isn’t it?>

In fact, I reckon no more than about 10% of my search engine traffic is generated by interest in anything OTHER than Vulva Liberation Week. And, bizarrely, <SE>*.

[* Prior to all this search engine business, I had used the word “<E>” once in this blog (in this post about midwifery) and had never used the word “<S>”. Since then, I have used the phrase “<SE>” only once – and that was in this post, wondering why I had a hit for somebody searching for “<SE>”! What is going on?! I tried searching for it on Google – I don’t recommend this experiment!! – and found the second of the two posts mentioned here on the fifth page of results, but no other hits in the first 10 pages. And I was getting hits on this search term even before I posted that second post – because the point of the second post was to wonder why I was getting these hits! All very strange. Now I’ve used the phrase again so will probably redouble the <E> hit rate. Damn.]

</update>

So what I am currently wondering is –

(1) Do I welcome the deluge of vulva-seeking visitors on the basis that at least some of them must be people like us, just looking for something non-p@rnographic?

(2) Do I try to stem the tide by, I don’t know, saying “vulv@” and “enem@” or something equally irritating in future?

(3) Do I just say stuff it, if you don’t like what they are searching for then don’t look at the stats!

My view is tending towards the first of these. I mean, I’ll be jiggered if I’m going to stop using my words for my body just because some other people try to make them dirty. And I do remember my own quest during VLW for “clean” images and information.

But, egad!, it is depressing to see what a single-track mind the internet-using public appears to have.

