Well, I’ve been tagged a few times, and always kind of wondered how these things start. So, here is an experiment. As a warm-up exercise for Vulva Liberation Week, I’m going to see if I can start one… C’mon everyone, help me make this not a total embarassing flop, willya please?

Thank you.

OK. Here are the questions (mainly inspired by and/or pinched directly from The Vagina Monologues):

1. If your vulva got dressed, what would it wear?

2. If your vulva could talk, what would it say? (in two words)

3. What’s special about your vulva?

4. What two words would you use to describe your vulva?

5. When did you get your first period? What was it like?

6. What does a vulva smell like?

7. What does a vulva look like?

8. If your vulva could choose a name for you, what would it choose?

Instructions – copy and paste the above questions, answer them on your blog, and tag two other people to do the same. Easy-peasy!

My answers

1. If your vulva got dressed, what would it wear?

A dazzling white robe, with a big hood to hide its face, and a green light sabre.

2. If your vulva could talk, what would it say? (in two words)

If it’s anything like me (or Ariel) it would say “more cheese!”, but actually I think it would ask for “fresh air!”

3. What’s special about your vulva?

Well it played a massive part in producing a whole new fabulous person, if that counts. I can’t believe I was too repressed to think that the “business end” of childbirth would be too gross to look at! Now I just need to have another baby… (well, maybe one day.)

4. What two words would you use to describe your vulva?

Powerful, jagged.

5. When did you get your first period? What was it like?

I was quite late compared to my friends, I think I was about fourteen, maybe not quite. We were out and about somewhere and I got red shorts! (They were meant to be blue and white. I can’t remember whether I had anything to change into or not, I guess I must have as I don’t remember being embarassed by walking around in bloodstained clothes!) It was kind of exciting and scary, something I’d waited for but wasn’t sure how to deal with.

6. What does a vulva smell like?

The sea.

7. What does a vulva look like?

A hairy, scary flower. Maybe a meat-eating flower like those Venus flytraps, with teeth around the petals.

8. If your vulva could choose a name for you, what would it choose?

Who on earth thought of this stupid question? Ah, but names are very important, and I chose one for it so why shouldn’t it choose one for me?

Maybe it would choose “Leia”.

I tag

Erika of What We Did On Our Holy Days
SLP of Diary of Barbie’s Worst Enemy

(And anyone else who wants to join in, just drop me a comment with your link!)

