I’ve come back today from celebrating summer solstice at Stonehenge with some lovely, fabulous people. It was the first time I had been, and it was an amazing experience, from start to finish. I may blog more about it another day, but I am absolutely knackered so I’m trying to keep this post short!

Wrecking my car* on the way home was an initial downer, to say the least, and having to pay £220 for the privilege of never having to see the thing ever again was a bitter pill – especially as I have only just spent £800 on fixing it up! (Moral of this story – don’t say “I’m tired, I’ll pull over at the next layby.” Just stop. This could have been a lot worse than it was.)

* Don’t fret, it’s only the car that was damaged. The kerb I hit was fine. Baby M and I are fine, thanks to all the lovely people who came to my rescue (thank you! thank you!) But the damage was not economical to repair – which in fairness is not saying much given the age and condition of my car – so I’ve written if off and abandoned it in Swindon to the tender mercies of the breakdown people who towed it away from the scene.

However, you can’t keep a good woman down for long. I’ve taken this not as a nasty turn of events in which I am the victim or even as just another harsh lesson learned (although it is that as well).

I’ve decided to take it as a Sign.

So I’m going to do what I’ve been resisting for a long time, and give up my car-owning status. I’m going to cycle to work and anywhere else that is just a bit too far to walk, and see about using public transport a lot more.

The thing about having a car is that it makes your life a heck of a lot easier because it is convenient just to jump in and drive. But it is absurdly expensive – I will save a fortune by not having one, even taking into account the cost of running a bike and of using public transport, taxis and delivery services as necessary – and, frankly, even if I occasionally have to hire a car.

Also, by ditching the car I will have to cycle and walk more – I already walk a lot, but I never cycle and don’t walk as much as I could – so will get fitter and healthier. Plus, I hope I will set a good example to Baby M. And then, I get to feel really smug about doing my bit for the planet.

I’ll keep you posted on how I get on in this new, car-free existence.

Will I cave in and buy a new car as soon as I have enough money for a deposit? Or will I find my new life so liberating and empowering that I wonder why everybody doesn’t do it, and start to evangelise? Watch this space.

