I had an e-mail today from someone I knew at college – not someone I knew well, but someone I liked a lot. We seemed to come together for mutual support in the intensity of finals, and drag one another through it. He’d come across my e-mail address and dropped me a line to catch up.

It really set me to thinking how life has changed for me since then. My personal and family life has been through umpteen upheavals, my work life is totally not what I expected it would be, and my world-view has changed dramatically.

Would it be nice to meet up with this person again and chat about old times? Or would it be just too weird and alien? The cautious, shy person inside won out on this one: I’ve hedged my bets by replying warmly and openly, without making any rash suggestions of a reunion.

Ho-hum.

