Today has been so stand-out good that I just have to tell the world all about it.

It didn’t start so auspiciously as I was late to work after staying at nursery to settle in a tetchy small person… I was anticipating another day like, say, yesterday where she spent the whole day being either foul or asleep or latched (leeched) on and then absolutely refused to have anything to do with bed until after 11pm, with her screaming and me wound up so tight I felt like I could just throw her out of the window… but none of that happened today.

It has been wonderful.

I even had a good, productive day at work, which has been pretty unusual lately because that – like everything else I guess – has been getting me down too. Then the baby was charm and impishness personified both at lunchtime and when I picked her up. She demonstrated her developing womanhood by multi-tasking – standing up and eating a sausage roll at the same time, which is no mean feat let me tell you. Finally, we had a thoroughly pleasant evening together and – wonder of wonders – she went to sleep peacefully and unprotestingly at SEVEN O’CLOCK! I can’t remember the last time that happened. Before Christmas, I think.

It was weird – I have hoovered, cooked, cleaned, done laundry. The house looks almost normal and I *still* have a happy evening of reading and surfing ahead of me, stilton on toast in one hand and vast mug of hot chocolate in the other.

I have no illusions that this will last but maybe, just maybe, a weekend of sheer idleness has done us both good and got us out of a trough. Here’s hoping.

